Settled In Heaven Blog

Home » SIH Series » Christ In The Revelation » The Revelation Of Jesus Christ: “they are the spirits of devils, working miracles”

The Revelation Of Jesus Christ: “they are the spirits of devils, working miracles”

Follow Us And Keep Updated On All SIH Postings ...


As The Lord Wills...Upcoming Series On SIH Blog. Don't Miss Out!

No upcoming events

Blog Subscription Tools:


Blog Stats

  • 217,934 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,585 other followers

Follow SIH Ministries On:


SettledInHeaven.org

SIH TOTT ICONRev 16:14 KJV

“For they are the spirits of devils, working miracles, which go forth unto the kings of the earth and of the whole world, to gather them to the battle of that great day of God Almighty.”

 

 

The Satanic messages of this world are described here as being empowered by “spirits of devils, working miracles”.   The power behind the messages that are presented by Satan’s political and religious kingdoms are inspired by devils (demons) and validated through the use of false miracles and signs.

False miracles and signs have been used throughout history in an attempt to prove that the Satanic messages of the world are divine in origin.   Pharaoh’s magicians (Ex 7:11-22) and the false prophets of Israel (Deut 13:1-18) are two great Old Testament examples of Satan’s servants using false miracles to justify their messages and actions.  In the New Testament, we find the need for Christians to be on guard against following those who are false miracle workers enabled by Satan in several scriptures (Matthew 24:24, 2 Peter 2:1 etc).

 

Matthew 7:22-23 is a very sobering passage.  In this text, we see those who are relying upon their acts of service and their “miracles” to prove they are saved…

Mat 7:22-23 KJV – “Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?   And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.”

 

However, we see Christ rejecting them because, in spite of their great acts of service, they are without Christ and condemned to eternal death.   In this case, we find these false servants who sincerely believed they were right with God and were deceived about their own spiritual condition, based upon their service and false miracles that they performed.

What a horrible condition to be in.  To sincerely believe you are saved, actively serving the Lord and performing miracles in His name and yet, He tells you “depart from me, I never knew you”.

How could this ever happen to someone?

This stands as a very strong reminder of the great ability to deceive that Satan holds over lost mankind.

We can learn at least three basic truths from this passage:

  1. May we never underestimate the great ability of Satan and his followers to perform counterfeit miracles in the name of Christ. Because of this, we should NEVER allow any miracle that is performed automatically cause us to become a follower of the miracle worker.  We must always test their ministry testing their message, methods and motives to be certain they are Scriptural.  (I John 4:1)
  2. May we never forget Satan’s ability to blind the spiritual eyes of the lost, requiring us to work with them with patience, kindness, love and seeking God’s gracious intervention in their lives. (Col 4:5-6)
  3. May we always “make our calling and election sure” realizing it is possible we have been given a false assurance of salvation by Satan working in our lives. (2 Peter 1:10)

 

May the Lord graciously equip us to do all these things!

For an in depth look at these sections of the Revelation:

http://wp.me/pU88A-4ah


15 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Talmidimblogging and commented:
    Excellent post!

  2. Citizen Tom says:

    That’s an interesting observation. Christians often say I know I am saved, but if they don’t know the Bible and practice what it says they don’t really know.

  3. lensgirl53 says:

    Where is the blessed assurance? Why wouldn’t God let us know? Should we doubt our salvation? Please explain number three.

    • Rob Barkman says:

      Hi Lensgirl,

      You’ve asked some very good questions. Thank you. I’ll try to answer them one at a time…

      Where is the blessed assurance?
      Answer: It is found in the finished work of Christ and it’s application to our life. This results in a change within us. When we know that Christ has intervened in our life and changed us from within… it is then that we can have blessed assurance.

      Why wouldn’t God let us know? (I am assuming that you are asking why the Lord would not show an individual they were not truly saved if they thought they were.)
      Answer: Please remember the false ministers and the hypocritical religious people we are talking about have WILLFULLY rejected the teachings in God’s Word and have chosen to twist those teachings for their selfish benefit. They are familiar with God’s Word, have studied God’s Word, and now are outwardly reforming their own lives to appear to be religious. They have rejected the teachings of God’s Word on salvation by grace, but have chosen to serve the Lord outwardly for selfish reasons. The Lord has already shown them the truth, but they have willfully rejected it, and have chosen another path for their life. When a person rejects the truths that God has shown to them, there is no reason to believe that He will continue to show them more truths. The Pharisees are a perfect example of this type of people.

      Should we doubt our salvation?
      Answ: Let me please rephrase what you are saying… we should NEVER take our salvation for granted. We should always be looking at our life to be sure the Lord has intervened and saved us from our sins. Peter tells us this when he says “make your calling and election sure” (1 Peter 1:10). When we have done this, then we can have true assurance we are saved. We can say, yes, I have examined my life, I have seen that the Lord has intervened and saved my from my sins and changed my inward man…. I am saved and I know it!

      The important point is… How to know the Lord has intervened in our lives. It is by examining if the Lord has ever changed us within. Any man can reform themselves outwardly and live a religious life by going through the motions. (Again, think of the Pharisees, outwardly they were very religious but inwardly they were the same old sinful men they always were). The important thing is did the Lord intervene and change us and make us into new creatures? Do we desire to serve Him for the right reasons? Do we love Him and are willing to do whatever He asks of us? Do we enjoy spending time in His Word? When we serve Him are we doing it to bring Him the glory not ourselves? When we see sin in our life does it grieve us?

      This type of examination of our self will show us if the Lord has changed our inward man. For a much more in depth look at how we can know we are saved please look at my posting “Be Sure You Are Saved”. It will help explain things in much more detail than I can begin to cover in this comment.

      Lord bless you my friend. Thank you again for your questions. May the Lord bless you richly!

      • lensgirl53 says:

        Thank you for your explanation. It is easier to understand when keeping the Pharisees in mind. Trust is key in knowing our salvation. I am assured of it. God bless your teaching of Revelation…no small undertaking 😃

        • Rob Barkman says:

          Trust is an absolute necessity for assurance you are right…. However, there is a false trust that is found in the world… James addresses that in James 2:19… “Thou believe that there is one God, thou do well. The demons also believe, and shudder.”

          The question is not if we have mentally believed, anyone can mentally assent to the existance of God and Christ. Even the demons have a type of sincere belief in Christ that causes them to fear and tremble.

          The question is… has the Lord intervened in our lives and given us a Godly faith in Him? That is why James emphasizes the importance of Godly works from a changed heart and inward man to prove a genuine salvation experience…”For as the body without a spirit is dead, so also faith without the works is dead.” (James 2:26)

          Works do not save us, but the works that stem from a changed inward man is proof the faith we possess is a saving faith. It is so important we all understand this truth, for there are many who have exercised a human, mental belief in Christ without ever experiencing a changed life steming from a change within….

          “Therefore if any man [be] in Christ, [he is] a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” (2 Corinthians 5:17)

          Lord bless… thanks for your input. Hope this helps a bit.

          • lensgirl53 says:

            Faith begins with trust and trust is belief. The inward being is changed by Jesus’ blood in that we are forgiven of our sins. Our lifetime is filled with challenges and trials that help increase our faith. It is by design. Some of us take longer to develope a deeper faith than others. I am thankful for knowing that the thief on the cross only had to believe and he was saved. He had no time to “do any good work.” My son died at 29 yrs. and I am 61 now. Both of us Christians from an early age. I have had more years to become more faithful….my son did not. Who is the better person? While I understand that faith without “works” is dead….my understanding of “works” is that it is the result of believing in Christ. That just makes sense. I am convicted of what the Word tells me is right and I go about my day trying to tow the line. My heart is good….but sometimes I sin. Is my faith insincere? NO! My inclination to sin is because I am still flesh but my soul is made right by the forgiveness of Jesus Christ through what He did on the cross.

            Faith is the building of a relationship with God. I am kept humble by knowing I can never “do enough” for God and that I should try to conduct my life pleasing to Him. My good deeds are my testimony of how Christ works in me. My assurance is because of my relationship with Him. The sincerity of my faith is written on my heart which only God can examine.

            God bless you. Have a good week. 😊

          • Rob Barkman says:

            I agree with everything you have said my friend. You expalined things very well. Absolutely none of us lead a perfect life, but it is oh so important that we see the fruits of the spirit being borne in our lives to prove the faith we have exercised is a genuine faith. Thansk again for your input. Lord bless.

  4. in567 says:

    My church is currently studying the book of Revelations. I will re-read these verses. Great post.

    • Rob Barkman says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I agree with you the Book of Revelation is a wonderful book when we begin to the Biblical symbolism that lies behind these images. Lord bless you my friend.

  5. SLIMJIM says:

    Good post. May we be watchful with what Satan can do while also not be infatiuated with him but focused on Christ instead!

Comments are closed.

Translate This Blog Into Other Languages...


Search Our Site For All Your Favorite Postings...


Guide To Our Current Postings…

Currently Being Updated For 2012-2013

