Settled In Heaven Blog

Home » SIH Series » Christ In The Revelation » The Revelation Of Jesus Christ: “his name is called The Word of God.”

The Revelation Of Jesus Christ: “his name is called The Word of God.”

Follow Us And Keep Updated On All SIH Postings ...


As The Lord Wills...Upcoming Series On SIH Blog. Don't Miss Out!

No upcoming events

Blog Subscription Tools:


Blog Stats

  • 211,506 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,656 other followers

Follow SIH Ministries On:


SettledInHeaven.org

SIH TOTT ICON

Revelation 19:13 – “And he was clothed with a vesture dipped in blood: and his name is called The Word of God.

John is told by the angel that one of Christ’s names is “The Word Of God”.  Why would Christ be given that name?

Please keep in mind, words are used to communicate and reveal.  For example, the only way you can know what I am thinking is if I verbally tell you what is on my mind.  My words are used to COMMUNICATE and REVEAL to you my thoughts.

This is exactly Christ’s role during His first coming…

Hebrews 1:1-3 – “God, who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in time past unto the fathers by the prophets,  Hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son, whom he hath appointed heir of all things, by whom also he made the worlds;  Who being the brightness of his glory, and the express image of his person, and upholding all things by the word of his power, when he had by himself purged our sins, sat down on the right hand of the Majesty on high;”

When Christ came to the earth:

  1. He COMMUNICATES the truths of God (“Hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son”) 

John 3:34 – “For he whom God hath sent speaketh the words of God: for God giveth not the Spirit by measure unto him.”

(see also: John 7:16; John 8:40 etc)

  1. He REVEALS God to man (“Who being the brightness of his glory, and the express image of his person”). 

2 Corinthians 4:6 – “For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts, to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.”

(see also: John 1:14; 2 Corinthians 4:4; Colossians 1:15)

Folks this is why Christ is given the title of the Word of God both in our Revelation passage and this passage found in the gospel of John…

John 1:1,14 – “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God…  And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.”

Whenever we study the life of Christ during His first coming may we always be looking for God to be revealed in His life… in His teachings, person and actions…

John 14:9-10 – “Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Shew us the Father?  Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works.”

For an in depth look at these sections of the Revelation:

http://wp.me/pU88A-4dO


3 Comments

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    I’m curious do you think that at times when the OT says “The Word of God came to…” that it is a manifestation of the pre-incarnate Christ?

    • Rob Barkman says:

      Thats a good question I have neer really considered. I never looked at those verses in that way, but from now on, when I run across them I will certainly consider it… I appreciate the thought, sounds like an interesting study.

      Lord bless you SJ

Comments are closed.

Translate This Blog Into Other Languages...


Search Our Site For All Your Favorite Postings...


Guide To Our Current Postings…

Currently Being Updated For 2012-2013

