Settled In Heaven Blog

Home » SIH Lesson Themes » Doctrinal » Psalms 31:5 – David’s Commitment (Part 1)

Psalms 31:5 – David’s Commitment (Part 1)

Follow Us And Keep Updated On All SIH Postings ...


As The Lord Wills...Upcoming Series On SIH Blog. Don't Miss Out!

No upcoming events

Blog Subscription Tools:


Blog Stats

  • 218,023 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,586 other followers

Follow SIH Ministries On:


SettledInHeaven.org

 

INTRODUCTION TO OUR SERIES:

Throughout the years, this Psalm, or portions of it, have been a great blessing to me in several difficult situations that I have faced in life. Although, the Psalm does not reveal to us the exact situation that David was facing, it is obvious he was facing a very difficult hardship that, from his perspective, appeared to be insurmountable.

Throughout our lives as Christians, most, if not all of us, have faced the same type of issues. This Psalm gives us many wonderful truths that will give us comfort, hope, and even joy in the midst of these hardships of life.

This is the basic outline we will be using… our devotional will be covering approximately one verse per day…

1. David’s Request (1-2)

2. David’s Recognition (3-4)

3. David’s Commitment (5-8)

4. David’s Sufferings (9-13) (Due to his sin 9-10; Due to other’s sin 11-13)

5. David’s Faith (14-16)

6. David’s Desire (17-18)

7. David’s Praise (19-22)

8. David’s Exhortation (23-24)

 

TODAY’S TEXT:

 

Psalms 31:5 KJV – “Into thine hand I commit my spirit: thou hast redeemed me, O LORD God of truth.”

 

Psalms 31:5 ESV – “​Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God.

 

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL:

Following David’s recognition of the greatness of the Lord and the mighty works He has done on his behalf (vs 3-4), David now purposefully commits himself to the Lord’s watch care…

 

 

 

“Into thine hand I commit my spirit:”

David vows to turn his entire being over to the Lord’s guardianship. It was not just a matter of David trusting the Lord with his physical wellbeing, but more importantly, he would be trusting the Lord with his spiritual wellbeing also.

David was willing to place himself in “the hand” of the Lord, knowing their was absolute security there.

 

John 10:28-29 KJV – “And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.”

 

 

 

“thou hast redeemed me,”

 

What was one of the great motivations behind David’s absolute committal to Christ? It was David’s recognition of the Lord’s redemptive work on his behalf. Stop and think about it, as David thought on the sacrifice of the Lord on his behalf, it became obvious the Lord would perfectly care for him during this time.

Think about it, if the Lord was willing to give His very life to redeem David from his sins, surely he wouldn’t fail David in the smaller issues of life…

Matthew 6:25-34 KJV – “Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?

 

Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they? Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature? And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin: And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith?

 

Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things. But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”

 

 

 

 

“O LORD God of truth.”

David describes his great redeeming Lord as “Jehovah, the worshipped One that is faithful to His Word”. What a grand name to give to his God!

In this title, David recognizes the Lord as….

1. Jehovah – the eternally self-existent One

2. God – the One that deserves our worship and absolute allegiance

3. of truth – the One that is truthful, always fulfilling His promises to us

All of these reflects David’s motivations to place his entire being in the hands of his Lord. He will never go out of existence, He deserves our full committal to Him, and He is always faithful to us!

 

Hebrews 6:18 KJV – “That by two immutable things, in which it was impossible for God to lie, we might have a strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold upon the hope set before us:”

Summary Of Our Study

 

During the difficult times of our lives, it is so important to remember all that our Lord has done for us. By doing so, we come to a quick realization, as one of His redeemed, He will never allow us to be separated from Him, nor allow evil to overcome us.

Isaiah 43:1-7 KJV – “But now thus saith the LORD that created thee, O Jacob, and he that formed thee, O Israel, Fear not: for I have redeemed thee, I have called thee by thy name; thou art mine.

When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.

For I am the LORD thy God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Saviour: I gave Egypt for thy ransom, Ethiopia and Seba for thee.

Since thou wast precious in my sight, thou hast been honourable, and I have loved thee: therefore will I give men for thee, and people for thy life.

Fear not: for I am with thee: I will bring thy seed from the east, and gather thee from the west; I will say to the north, Give up; and to the south, Keep not back: bring my sons from far, and my daughters from the ends of the earth; Even every one that is called by my name: for I have created him for my glory, I have formed him; yea, I have made him.”

Homepage…  http://www.settledinheaven.org

Text Blog…  http://www.settledinheaven.wordpress.com

Video Blog… http://www.youtube.com/settledinheaven

Email… settledinheaven@gmail.com


3 Comments

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    Thank you for this study. My mind was blown away when I realized Jesus quoted this verse in Luke 23:46 before He passed away.

Comments are closed.

Translate This Blog Into Other Languages...


Search Our Site For All Your Favorite Postings...


Guide To Our Current Postings…

Currently Being Updated For 2012-2013

