Settled In Heaven Blog

Home » SIH Lesson Themes » Doctrinal » Psalms 31:14 – David’s Faith (Part 1)

Psalms 31:14 – David’s Faith (Part 1)

Follow Us And Keep Updated On All SIH Postings ...


As The Lord Wills...Upcoming Series On SIH Blog. Don't Miss Out!

No upcoming events

Blog Subscription Tools:


Blog Stats

  • 214,508 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,654 other followers

Follow SIH Ministries On:


SettledInHeaven.org

 

INTRODUCTION TO OUR SERIES:

Throughout the years, this Psalm, or portions of it, have been a great blessing to me in several difficult situations that I have faced in life. Although, the Psalm does not reveal to us the exact situation that David was facing, it is obvious he was facing a very difficult hardship that, from his perspective, appeared to be insurmountable.

Throughout our lives as Christians, most, if not all of us, have faced the same type of issues. This Psalm gives us many wonderful truths that will give us comfort, hope, and even joy in the midst of these hardships of life.

This is the basic outline we will be using… our devotional will be covering approximately one verse per day…

1. David’s Request (1-2)

2. David’s Recognition (3-4)

3. David’s Commitment (5-8)

4. David’s Sufferings (9-13) (Due to his sin 9-10; Due to other’s sin 11-13)

5. David’s Faith (14-16)

6. David’s Desire (17-18)

7. David’s Praise (19-22)

8. David’s Exhortation (23-24)

TODAY’S TEXT:

Psalms 31:14 KJV – But I trusted in thee, O LORD: I said, Thou [art] my God.

Psalms 31:14 ESV – But I trust in you, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.”

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL:

Following a recounting of the results of David’s personal sins and sins in the life of others, David saw that things had gotten entirely out of his control. In the midst of his seemingly hopeless condition, David turned to his Lord, trusted in Him, and acknowledged His position as the only true God…

But I trusted in thee, O LORD:

The “LORD” refers to Jehovah, the Only True God, the Self-Existent One. He is the genuine God over all. He is not reliant upon any others for His existence, or His sustenance. He is God alone and needs no one or no one thing to exist eternally.

The Hebrew word that is translated “trusted” implies “hiding for refuge”. David was in the midst of a fearsome storm of life. He had sinned against his Lord and his family, his friends, his acquaintances and his subjects knew of his sin, had exaggerated it, and had turned against him. The circumstances he now faced was entirely out of his control.

In the midst of his fearful, helpless condition he runs to the Lord as his refuge in the midst of this life storm. He trusted in the Lord, knowing He is in control and was always ready to forgive him, grant him peace and keep David safe in His hands.

Psalms 56:3 KJV – “What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.”

Psalms 18:1-4 KJV – “To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David, the servant of the LORD, who spake unto the LORD the words of this song in the day that the LORD delivered him from the hand of all his enemies, and from the hand of Saul: And he said, I will love thee, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower. I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies. The sorrows of death compassed me, and the floods of ungodly men made me afraid.”

I said, Thou [art] my God.

Not only did David run to the Lord as his Refuge and Strength in the midst of life’s storms, but he also recognized Jehovah as the One that deserved his worship and his allegiance. By this David is recognizing his responsibilities towards Jehovah.

He is not simply a refuge that we run to in times of need and abandon during the good times of life. He is the One who is to be continually worshipped and served throughout the many days of our life, whether in good times or in bad times.

Psalms 42:11 KJV – “Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.”

Summary Of Our Study:

Oh how important it is for all of us to recognize the great need of the Lord in every aspect of our lives on earth…

He is in control of what we cannot control.

He enables us to withstand, and do, what is impossible for us if left alone.

He is the One who leads us, feeds us and protects us in the midst of our life on earth.

Therefore, we own Him our all… Our worship, our allegiance, and first place in our lives!

Luke 20:38 KJV – “For he is not a God of the dead, but of the living: for all live unto him.”

May we all learn from King David and seek to rid our lives of sin on a daily basis, not only for eternity’s sake but for our earthly well-being also!

Homepage…  http://www.settledinheaven.org

Text Blog…  http://www.settledinheaven.wordpress.com

Video Blog… http://www.youtube.com/settledinheaven

Email… settledinheaven@gmail.com


3 Comments

  1. The True Light! says:

    A good study Rob! We certainly can forget just how important God is in all aspects of our life. Seems sometimes we only “remember” how great He is when we come across trouble.

    But He is there for us in every way, not just in troublesome times. Let us always try to be mindful of the fact that we live, move, and have our very being in Him…(Acts 17:28).

    Steve

  2. SLIMJIM says:

    Beautiful turning point to see David now turn to trust in God!

Comments are closed.

Translate This Blog Into Other Languages...


Search Our Site For All Your Favorite Postings...


Guide To Our Current Postings…

Currently Being Updated For 2012-2013

