Settled In Heaven Blog

Home » SIH Lesson Types » SIH TOTT... » SIH’s Think On These Things: Heb 11:27

SIH’s Think On These Things: Heb 11:27

Follow Us And Keep Updated On All SIH Postings ...


As The Lord Wills...Upcoming Series On SIH Blog. Don't Miss Out!

No upcoming events

Blog Subscription Tools:


Blog Stats

  • 499,502 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,588 other subscribers

Follow SIH Ministries On:


SettledInHeaven.org

Heb 11:27  By faith he forsook Egypt, not fearing the wrath of the king: for he endured, as seeing him who is invisible.

The call of God for Moses to stand against the Egyptian enslavement of Israel is found in Ex 3:1-22.

Moses confronted Pharaoh on several occasions during the course of the 10 plagues against Egypt (Ex chps 4-14).  During these meetings with the Pharaoh, his anger towards Moses was continually increasing.  Pharaoh’s anger came to a head when, during one of their last meetings (Ex 10:28-29) these words are spoken ….

Pharaoh: Get thee from me, take heed to thyself, see my face no more; for in [that] day thou seest my face thou shalt die.

Moses: Thou hast spoken well, I will see thy face again no more.

How was Moses able to boldly stand against the ruler of the nation of Egypt under threat of death?  It was by his God-given faith.  Moses trusted in his Lord to keep His promises, deliver His people and keep him safe in the process.

Our text describes the two results of Moses faith:

  1. “he endured” – By faith, he continued by strength
  2. “as seeing Him who was invisible.”  – By faith, he kept his spiritual attention fixed upon his Lord.  He remembered His blessings, His promises, and His eternity that awaited Moses.

Do we have our heart and mind fixed upon our Lord and His promises for us?  Are we constantly aware of His presence in our life?  Do we count His blessings every day?  By doing this we will be able to continue in the strength of the Lord as we face the many testings this world brings our way.

May the Lord bless each one of us as we “Think On These Things”.

SIH Homepage: http://www.settledinheaven.org

SIH Text Blog: https://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/all-about-salvation/

SIH Video Blog: http://youtube.com/settledinheaven/

SIH Email: settledinheaven@gmail.com


16 Comments

  1. We want to answer a hearty “Yes!” to those three closing questions, but I know that there are times when I rush ahead (or lag behind) when He calls. There are times when I forget His promises and look at circumstances.

    But the good part? HE never fails. He lovingly and gently reminds me that He is there. He is in control. He is with me and will enable me.

    What an amazing God!

    • Rob Barkman says:

      AMEN! You are so right about His faithfulness in reminding and gently leading us back to the path He would have us to take. Lord bless you , thanks for the great reminder of His ABUNDANT grace He shows to us.

  2. Susan Michaels says:

    Powerful…to endure as seeing Him who is invisible…Excellent post and teaching!

  3. cindyhfrench says:

    Rob, how lovely! and how great that your devotional so coordinated with my post this morning. At least in my mind it does, because you have to have your mind focused on Jesus and his promises to be able to do any of the things I spoke about.
    thank you.

    • Rob Barkman says:

      Cindy,

      You are so correct… our postings did go hand in hand with one anothers. Thank you for the kind words. The Lord is so good to us. May the Lord bless you.

  4. terry1954 says:

    i really try, but i fail in some way each day, but i keep my eyes on the Lord always

  5. While I believe that I am wanting to constantly fixi my eyes upon the Lord…sometimes during the busyness of the days I sometimes take my eyes off of Him and onto the challlenges…but I try hard to remind myself whenever I find I’m doing this to ask the Holy Spirit to remind me on a constant basis …of His presence …..Diane

    • Rob Barkman says:

      Sounds really good to me. I have to say it works like that for me too. No matter how hard I try to keep Him on my mind all day something seems to ALWAYS take my attention off Him. Frustrating at times… but He is always faithful in allowing me to begin a new day and a new beginning to keep my mind on Him! Lord bless. thanks fo rthe great comment Diane!

  6. Desiray says:

    Anytime we have to do anything for God rather it be standing against the enemy it is our faith that keeps us standing. But if we allow things to hinder us then we have taken our eyes off of God an on to what is bothering us or our problems enemies or what ever…Faith is what is required to stand and faith is what moves the hand of GOD..Great post

    • Rob Barkman says:

      You are so right Desiray… It is our faith that enables us to stand in the midst of the trials of life. By God’s grace He continues to supply all the faith we need to serve Him and patiently await His promises of eternity.

  7. Debbie says:

    Rob, this really blessed me, to think about the results of faith. 🙂 Thank you and God bless you as you urge us on in Him!

  8. Celina says:

    Hi Rob,
    I just wanted you to know that I nominated you for the Sunshine Award… one that is given to “bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere. You are not obligated to accept the award…but I hope you do. Please check out the link belowhttp://livingbeyondorganicmom.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/sunshine-in-my-soul/?preview=true&preview_id=208&preview_nonce=f50854b54c

    • Rob Barkman says:

      Thank you so much…. May the Lord bless you. I am so grateful that the Lord has chosen to bless and use the SIH ministry to be a blessing to others…. I will be acknowledging the award shortly, when my schedule allows me to write up the posting. Lord bless you and your ministry… you have been a great encouragement to me!

Comments are closed.

Translate This Blog Into Other Languages...


Search Our Site For All Your Favorite Postings...


Guide To Our Current Postings…

Currently Being Updated For 2012-2013