Settled In Heaven Blog

Home » SIH Lesson Types » SIH TOTT... » SIH’s Think On These Things: Heb 11:28

SIH’s Think On These Things: Heb 11:28

Follow Us And Keep Updated On All SIH Postings ...


As The Lord Wills...Upcoming Series On SIH Blog. Don't Miss Out!

No upcoming events

Blog Subscription Tools:


Blog Stats

  • 499,506 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,588 other subscribers

Follow SIH Ministries On:


SettledInHeaven.org

Heb 11:28  Through faith he kept the passover, and the sprinkling of blood, lest he that destroyed the firstborn should touch them.

The account of Moses’ role in the last of the 10 plagues is recounted in Exodus 11:4-12:30.

The final plague, the destroyer bringing death to every firstborn male in the land of Egypt, led to the deliverance of Israel from the bondage of Egypt.

The Lord told Moses that, if the blood of a sacrificial lamb was applied to a home’s door frame, then the Lord would not allow the destroyer to visit that home.  In other words, the Lord would “pass over” the blood protected house, saving the first-born male from death. This is why this sacrifice was described as “the sacrifice of the Passover”.

Moses believed God’s Word and, by faith, led the Israelite nation to apply the lamb’s blood to the doorposts of their homes.  The application of the blood to the doorpost seemed like a foolish action by the Egyptians, but ended up saving the lives of the firstborn males of Israel.

The death of the firstborn, gives us an understanding that sin results in death.  Two different types of death are the result of sin…

  1. physical death which is the separation of the immortal spirit from the body.
  2. spiritual death which is the separation of the immortal spirit from God for eternity in     the Lake of Fire.

Likewise, the blood of the sacrificial Lamb gives us an understanding of the need for a sacrifice to be made on our behalf to allow us escape the results of sin in our lives…

  1. The blood of the sacrificial Lamb is a picture of Christ, His sacrificed life, and His blood that was shed on the cross.
  2. The application of the blood to the doorposts of the homes pictures for us the blood of Christ being applied to our account making FULL and COMPLETE payment of our sin debt.

Finally, Moses’ faith in the Lord, and His Word of promise, pictures for us the need for each one of us to trust in Christ and the gospel message for salvation from our sin and it’s results.

May each one of us examine our hearts to be sure we have turned from our sins, trusted in Christ and received the salvation that He so graciously offers to all who will come unto Him, the True Passover Lamb.

May the Lord bless each one of us as we “Think On These Things”.

SIH Homepage: http://www.settledinheaven.org

SIH Text Blog: https://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/all-about-salvation/

SIH Video Blog: http://youtube.com/settledinheaven/

SIH Email: settledinheaven@gmail.com


15 Comments

  1. cindyhfrench says:

    Rob, I certainly have been thinking on those things! We have been in Hebrews at church and really all through the Easter time and it was so beautiful which is why I blogged about it too.
    but today I wanted to ask for prayer specifically from you and a very few others that I feel I know and would pray rightly.
    EVERY night this week, I have awakened with my asthma around 3-4 am. I get up and do a breathing treatment-go back to bed and I’ve been good to go during the days. but last night didn’t go that way. I had to take a 2nd treatment an hour later-cause I didn’t want to go to the hospital. It has calmed things down now and I am going to try and see the doc today-and then will do what I need to do-but I am supposed to get my remacaide tomorrow which is a 3hr IV and I really need it. so I am praying I won’t have to do anything major untll after that if indeed I have to do anything.
    Please pray for me!!

    • Rob Barkman says:

      Cindy,

      I’ll be praying for your the Lord’s will to be done with your health and for the Lord to grant wisdom to your doctors. I know the difficulty it is to try to serve the Lord when we are held down with physical ailments. One thing I believe I know is true…. He has chosen to allow you to go through this difficult stressful time for a purpose. I trust as time progresses you can look back and see what that purpose is. Perhaps to better minister to others with the same medical problems? Or perhaps to be a strong influence to an unsaved friend or family member? In any case, I know He will show you His presence, grace and peace every step of the way.
      Lord bless you friend. I’m praying.

      Ps 91:2 (KJV)
      2) I will say of the LORD, [He is] my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.

    • Rob Barkman says:

      Cindy, Ive been praying today… just wanted to check to see how your doc appt went today. I did read your blog for today, I’m hoping that means that the Lord blessed and you were able to go about your business. He is so good to us!

  2. James says:

    Howdy! Just came by to say hello! Great blog, keep up the great work, brother.

  3. Susan Michaels says:

    My elderly mother was just commenting on how she senses God’s great and present help whenever she prays Jesus’s covenant covering over her life —there is POWER in the completed sacrifice of our Lord Jesus! Praise God!

    • Rob Barkman says:

      There is no doubt about it ….. the greatest proof of the power of the sacrifice of Christ is the salvation of a sinful man and the victory that Crhist gained over sin and death! Thanks for another great comment Susan. Lord bless.

  4. I have to admit that without spiritual understanding being given, the natural man looks at the Bible and especially at the crucifixion, and considers it foolishness. It is beyond comprehension.

    However, when our spiritual eyes are opened by the Holy Spirit, we see the complete logic of the whole, and the plan and purpose of God throughout history. The Passover is an essential part of that understanding and your explanation here is simple and yet profound.

    • Rob Barkman says:

      The account of the passover has always held a special place in my heart as a reminder of what the Lord has done for each of us that are saved by His grace. Lord bless,

  5. […] FROM Deliverance Ministry source https://settledinheaven.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/sihs-think-on-these-things-heb-1128/ #family movie -THE LAMP- one family's loss shows them how to turn to Faith instead of magic […]

  6. Debbie says:

    I love how you showed us Jesus in the passover, and our need to trust Him for our salvation! God bless you, Rob, as you think on His greatness today!

  7. Tejas Kumar says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Rob! I love it when people take things from the bible and point them back to Jesus, really appreciate this!

Comments are closed.

Translate This Blog Into Other Languages...


Search Our Site For All Your Favorite Postings...


Guide To Our Current Postings…

Currently Being Updated For 2012-2013